Biology Faculty

M. Edwin Braddock (1972)

Professor, Biology

B.S. Southern Nazarene College, M.S. Texas A&M University – Commerce, Colorado State University, Texas A&M University, University of Central Arkansas


Kenneth Crane (2011)

Associate Professor of Biology

B.S. University of Texas – Austin, M.S., Ph.D. University of Texas – Arlington

Karin Grisham (2013)

Assistant Professor of Biology/Chemistry/Physics



Patricia Harman (1994)

Professor, Biology

A.S. Texarkana College, B.G.S. Texas A&M University – Texarkana, M.S. Texas A&M University – Commerce, Texas A&M University – Texarkana, Texas A&M University – Commerce, Montana State University, Miami (Ohio) University


Denise Johnson (2001)

Associate Professor, Biology/Chemistry

B.S. Texas Woman’s University, M.S. Louisiana State University – Shreveport


Robert Laird (1993)

Professor, Biology

B.S. University of Central Oklahoma, M.P.H. University of Oklahoma Health Science Center, Texas A&M University – Commerce


Delores McCright (1986)

Professor, Biology

B.S., M.S. Texas A&M University – Commerce

Mark Storey (1992)

Associate Professor,  Biology

B.S. Texas A&M University –College Station, M.Sc. Texas A&M University – Commerce, Texas A&M University – Texarkana

Chemistry Faculty

Michael L. Buttram (1971)

Professor, Chemistry

B.A., M.A. Texas A&M University – Commerce, Ph.D. University of Louisville


Catherine Hagen Howard (1988)

Professor, Biology/Chemistry – Director, Math and Science Division

B.S., M.S. University of North Texas, Texas A&M University – Texarkana, University of Dijon – France, Montana State University, Iowa State University, Ed.D Nova Southeastern University


Michael Sheets (1993)

Professor, Chemistry

B.S., M.Ed. Southern Arkansas University, Henderson State University, University of Central Arkansas



Health Occupations Faculty


Health Occupations Faculty & Staff

 ADN Program

The Associate Degree Nursing Program at Texarkana College has the distinction of being the first approved Associate Degree Nursing Program in the state. The program entered its first class in 1959. In 1966, the program became the first Associate Degree program to be accredited by the National League for Nursing and has retained continuous national accreditation to this day. For the past four years NCLEX pass rates have exceeded 90% and letters of commendation have been received from the Texas Board of Nursing. Approximately 3,000 nursing students have graduated and provided a vital role in health care services in the community and surrounding areas. Community support is obvious through the various scholarships provided for nursing students. Currently, we have eight different scholarship funds that are either endowed or supported by donations from the community or faculty.  Further evidence of community support is manifested by Affiliation Agreements with 18 local health care agencies. Each year at least 90% of graduates are employed in health care setting or are pursuing higher education degrees within 6 months of graduation.

Kathleen Anglin, R.N. (1993)

Associate Professor, ADN Program

B.S.N. Texas Woman’s University, M.S.N. Walden University

Lesli Banister, R.N. (2010)

Instructor, Vocational Nursing Program

B.S.N. University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Letha Colquitt, R.N., F.N.P. (1998)

Associate Professor, ADN Program

A.D.N. Texarkana College, B.S.N. & M.N.Sc. University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Robyn Cornelius, R.N. (2008)

Instructor, Vocational Nursing Program

B.S.N. Henderson State University

Kristen Floyd, R.N. (2008)

Assistant Professor, ADN Program

B.S.N., M.S. Texas Woman’s University


Ruth Ann Hairston, R.N. (2001)

Associate Professor, ADN Program

A.D.N. Texarkana College, B.S.N. University of Texas – Arlington, MNSc University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences



Jerry Hutchison, R.N., NREMPT/P (1995)

Coordinator, Assistant Professor – EMT Program

A.A. Business Administration, A.A.S. EMT, A.A.S. Nursing – Texarkana College, B.A. Western Illinois University – Macomb, B.S.N. University of Texas – Arlington

Cynthia Montgomery

Division Director




Math Faculty


Stephanie Carpenter (2011)

Assistant Professor, Mathematics

B.S.E. University of Arkansas, M.S. Texas A&M University-Texarkana

Tony A. Hartman (1983)

Professor, Mathematics

Texarkana College, B.S.E., M.Ed. Southern Arkansas University, East Texas State University – Texarkana, University of Arkansas


Robert Jones (1989)

Professor, Mathematics – Dean of Students

B.S.E., M.S. Arkansas State University

Serena Metcalf (1992)

Instructor, Mathematics

B.S. Mathematics, East Texas State University

Kalie Shimer (2011)


Physics Faculty

Delbert Dowdy (1978)

Professor, Physics

B.S. University of Texas at Arlington,

M.S. University of North Texas